October 1, 11:00am

Mourning Colonel Stephenson Exhibit

Mourning Colonel Stephenson Exhibit

1820 Colonel Benjamin Stephenson House

409 S. Buchanan St.
Edwardsville, Illinois 62025

  • Time: 11:00 AM to 2:00 PM

Visit Edwardsville’s oldest historic home and experience a bit of the macabre while learning about the mourning customs of Early America. Each room of Stephenson’s federal style home portrays a different aspect of the days leading up to and following the Colonel’s untimely death on October 10, 1822. Guests begin their tour in our parlor which depicts the house in full mourning as the room would have looked during the Colonel's funeral. Learn about Early American medical practices and how families cared for the sick and dying in an era before modern medicine. Uncover the mysteries surrounding the Colonel’s death and the aftermath for his young widow and orphaned children. On days the kitchen hearth is in use, visitors will have the opportunity to try a tasty treat called a funeral biscuit given to mourners during a funeral.

Upcoming Dates

  • Friday, October 1 to Sunday, October 31
  • Saturday, October 2 to Monday, November 1
  • Sunday, October 3 to Tuesday, November 2
  • Monday, October 4 to Wednesday, November 3
  • Tuesday, October 5 to Thursday, November 4
  • Wednesday, October 6 to Friday, November 5
  • Thursday, October 7 to Saturday, November 6
  • Friday, October 8 to Sunday, November 7
  • Saturday, October 9 to Monday, November 8
  • Sunday, October 10 to Tuesday, November 9
  • Monday, October 11 to Wednesday, November 10
  • Tuesday, October 12 to Thursday, November 11
  • Wednesday, October 13 to Friday, November 12
  • Thursday, October 14 to Saturday, November 13
  • Friday, October 15 to Sunday, November 14
  • Saturday, October 16 to Monday, November 15
  • Sunday, October 17 to Tuesday, November 16
  • Monday, October 18 to Wednesday, November 17
  • Tuesday, October 19 to Thursday, November 18
  • Wednesday, October 20 to Friday, November 19
  • Thursday, October 21 to Saturday, November 20
  • Friday, October 22 to Sunday, November 21
  • Saturday, October 23 to Monday, November 22
  • Sunday, October 24 to Tuesday, November 23
  • Monday, October 25 to Wednesday, November 24
  • Tuesday, October 26 to Thursday, November 25
  • Wednesday, October 27 to Friday, November 26
  • Thursday, October 28 to Saturday, November 27
  • Friday, October 29 to Sunday, November 28
  • Saturday, October 30 to Monday, November 29
  • Sunday, October 31 to Tuesday, November 30

Related